( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

One-entry-after-another style. I just don't want to cram it all into one. I'm talking about different things, here, okay?

Yesterday I was kinda looking forward to hanging out with J and Katharine and her friend who's visiting from Wales. Unfortunately, the times didn't come together, so that didn't happen, but guess what DID happen? Poker.

I guess I haven't mentioned it here, but in the span of a month, poker nights have become the main social activity in my life. They are awesome. They are great. I wish everybody could play poker so I could play poker with everybody.

Actually, my first poker night was when I started crushing on J. Funny, that.

But you have no idea the degree to which poker has infiltrated my life. Three days is like, a LONG TIME between games. Here are the poker mainstays, and I may refer to them from hereon as though you know who I'm talking about: Y, Howard, J, Apu, Alex (sort of), Noah, Eric, and, of course, me as The Only Girl. As is usual for my social life. Other girls (Katharine, Lauren, Claudia -Noah's roommate-) have come and gone, but none of them got really into it. I think Yaniv is in the process of wooing J's neighbor Maria, so she'll probably turn up. Maybe she'll stay. It will actually be very cool to balance the hormones in there.

As an aside, I think that perhaps, except for the girlfriends I already have, my skills of relating to most other girls have severely wilted, due to that I hang out with 85%--maybe 90%--guys. Or, you know, maybe that's bunk. Because Katharine's a brand new friend, and she's darn girly, and we get along great. So I don't know what I'm talking about. But why aren't I into hanging out with (honey) bunches of girls? I don't know. I guess that's just not my dynamic. The bunches-of-girls I've been presented with in the past have not been appealing to me. Whatever. It's fine. I have friends. Aside over.

So yeah, poker. I like it. I do it all the time. Last weekend was really funny. Saturday was kind of a predetermined poker night, and when I called about it that day, they were like, 'Oh, we played last night too... but okay.' And then Alex wanted to play on Monday, so we called it, and they were like, 'Oh, we played last night, too... but okay.' We are such FIENDS! Unbelievable.

12:19 a.m. 2003-11-08�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland