( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

So I just took my parents to see Whale Rider. Second time I've seen it, but I thought they'd enjoy it, and they never go out to movies unless I take them.

I think I already expressed how much I like that movie, so I'm not going to bother here.

But I noticed a really cute trend with the movies I take my parents to. It would annoy me if it didn't come from a genuine place in heart. I, their twenty-year-old daughter, am always taking them to movies in which either 1) parent and child undergo some sort of touching transformation, or 2) someone's native culture is being strongly celebrated while at the same time being changed by modern ideas, or 3)the lead character(s) is a youngster (girl) who is extraordinarily spunky/talented/intelligent and who is the treasure of the community.

Here's a list of some of the movies I've taken them to recently:
Finding Nemo
Monsoon Wedding
Rabbit-Proof Fence
Whale Rider

Awwwwww. Holy fricking god. Isn't that sweet. Ew. Awwwwww.

I don't mean for that to happen. If I think they'll enjoy a movie, I'll take them. That's all. And I have it pegged as to where our tastes overlap. They really, really like the movies I take them to. So I mean, whatever. It's cool, I guess. Just tells you what kind of mental page we're on.

11:10 p.m. 2003-11-07�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland