( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

City of Lost Children is probably the most beautiful love story I've ever seen. It is a highly unlikely story that took me far beyond myself, till I could feel a breeze where there was none.

It is by the director of Amelie and Delicatessen. Amelie required no stretch of the imagination, and so you could still somehow retain a sense of who you were; while Delicatessen was too far gone for me to appreciate, though it had some real comedy in it. I would go so far as to say that City of Lost Children is this director's masterpiece. I doubt that everyone would appreciate it--it is highly surreal. But as for me, I loved it so much that I will not watch it again tomorrow, and I will watch it again in the far future when I am an entirely different person.

---

I have a presentiment that Alex will not be a part of my future life. I--I have the odd and terrible feeling that I am outgrowing this friend. And I simply see, two, three, four years down the road, we have separate paths in front of us, and we will simply grow apart.

And so I will enjoy his presence while I have it.

12:27 a.m. 2004-05-09�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland