( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

--As long as it's not a tournament--in a night of poker, I don't lose. I used to lose money. I don't lose anymore. That's pretty hot.

I don't necessarily win. The last few times, I've been up just a little over even. But I don't lose. And it's because I'm a better player. That's nice.

But I'm not content to break even. I want to win. That is good. (This is a game, folks. You can't get better if you're content to break even.) On the way home, I noticed myself making that a mantra. "I want to win. That is good."

Then, after thinking about it, I adjusted the mantra. "I want to be a good pokermate who wins. That is good."

Because who wants to turn into a bastard during gameplay just to win? Not me. People should be happy to give me their money.

devilish smile

---

I've been using the word 'hot' to mean awesome. I like it.

When someone's really into how good things are, that situation is hot. "So I'm gonna have the apartment to myself, and if this, this, and this work out for me, I'm made in the shade." "Oh that's hot!"

You bet it is, baby.

---

So randomly, I hung out with Cris (from work) tonight. It was waaaaay cooooool.

I gave up on him some time ago as a romantic prospect, but it made me sad that we might not be friends outside of work (seeing as how I may be leaving work soon).

Anyways, after work tonight (we both closed), he led me to his house so he could give me back my copy of the Arabian nights and give me a new Incubus CD. (Aside: he's really into Incubus, and as I'm a total newbie, he's giving me their CD's to listen to in the order he discovered them. I have the first installment, Make Yourself, and he just gave me Science.) The CD of course would take some minutes to burn, so of course he invited me in; we each had a beer, and since he didn't want me driving home with just alcohol in my stomach, and since he's Greek, he offered me food; since he was hungry, he started making dinner, with enough for me and a little extra for his roommate; we had dinner, with excellent and inspiring conversation.

At our parting of ways, he mentioned that he had an awesome time hanging out and we should do this more often. Sounds good, I said, sounds good.

Doesn't it though?

---

My friends, you know what is happening? A trend.

Newsflash: what's hot! Changing the world to have it be as you like because it is simply the thing to do. It's true! All the cool kids are doing it.

I'm doing it, Cris is doing it, Pol's doing it. People, come and ride the train. Come ride it! Making stops at Ubermensch Junction and West We Own The World.

If you join us, you get a free badge. Of Honor.

2:00 a.m. 2004-04-15�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland