( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

So, I somehow resisted the mighty, mighty impulse to buy a PS2.

It wasn't something I'd thought about, oh no. It was impulse buying at its most terrible. I was reading in my living room when suddenly I was struck with the URGE to play Soulcalibur or Final Fantasy X. Christianna is the only one I know with a PS2 who owns Soulcalibur, but she's doing her homework--which I honestly should be doing--and then I was overcome by this wave of I need a PS2 NOW.

Oh my god. You have no idea. I innocently went on Ebay to see how much they went for these days. And I'm seeing these deals, right? Then the bare-bones PS2 you might get in the store just isn't enough anymore. It has to come with an extra controller--maybe a memory card... and a game. Yeah, an extra game. And it has to be a game that I like.

NOW I'm deciding which auction I want to bid on. How did I get here? How do I stop myself? This is expensive! I have been spending money like NOBODY's business! Expensive! Since when did I become so high maintenance? And of course, I'm getting it so I can play two other games that I'd have to buy. Sheezus, I'll end up spending, what, $200? Sheeeeeez! I'm already buying an expensive armchair, I'm planning on buying paint and stuff to redecorate the apartment, I'm anticipating TWO CATS(which will be an ongoing expense), and this summer I'm going to Greece with my sister! And now all of a sudden I have to have a Playstation 2? God help me.

Butch: I work like a dog all my life and I can never get a penny ahead. Why do you think that is?
Etta: Well, Sundance says it's because you're a soft touch, you're always going on expensive vacations, and you're a rotten gambler.
Butch: Well, that might have something to do with it.

So I said, I said to myself, Look, Delphi, it's like a gun. Give yourself a three-day wait before you decide to shoot yourself in the foot.

8:49 p.m. 2004-04-12�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland