( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

"That's really funny, do it again," is, I think, kind of insulting to hear. In general. Usually it's said when you weren't really meaning to be funny. But it's the "do it again" part that irks me. It just smacks of disrespect. Shall I perform tricks for you? What else would you like to see me do? The only self-respecting answer you can give to "TRF, DIA" is No. But then you look like a party pooper, but it's never fun for the person who has to do it again. It's always slightly humiliating, if only vaguely. Dunno, I was just reminded of how much that annoys me.

---

So yesterday I was in the car when I realized the music fast was over. It actually surprised me, I had gotten used to suppressing the urge to put in a CD. My thoughts act differently in the car when there's no music on, and I kinda like it. They're more vivid, more creative, more relevant. But music is a good thing in and of itself; it's just that I've learned the difference between music that you want and music that's just a habit.

Also I realized that it's hard to get me to do mundane tasks without music on. I mean, I just couldn't bring myself to fold my clothes without music. I mean, I'm serious, I just put them all away yesterday and my room looks gorgeous. That's a little weird, don't you think? Codependence on music? I dunno, there are more harmful things. I'm sure if I had the idea that I would not be able to put music on soon, then I'd force myself to get around to it. But a week, that's a long time to have clean clothes sitting around in a hamper. But my entire house is in a sorry state, so I've got nothing against folding clothes specifically. I've just been slovenly lately. Gee, that's comforting. But now my inner sanctum, aka bedroom, is mostly beautiful. There are a couple piles on the floor, but they are very, very small. And my bed looks immaculate, worshipfully serene, in fact, I took a picture for posterity:

I love my bed. I consistently get compliments on it from people who have and haven't been in it. I think it right and proper that luxury be allowed for the bed if for nothing else. You DO spend a third of your life in there, and if you won't allow yourself to sleep comfortably, what WILL you allow yourself? By luxury I just mean, a good mattress that takes care of your body, comforters/ blankets that keep you sufficiently warm, and sheets that a)feel good against your skin, and b)suit your visual tastes. It is a good thing to fall asleep and to wake up feeling, viscerally, that the world suits you. If one can afford luxuries, this should be around the top of the list.

---

Oh yeah, and Parmesan & Garlic Cheez-Its? AVOID THEM. You do not want a whole box full of these in your house. The first one tastes really good, and the sixth one tastes like stinky feet. And once you register that stinky-foot taste, that is the only way they will ever taste again.

12:12 a.m. 2003-12-10�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland