( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

Oh you guys... Not only do I love The Crucible, The Crucible loves me!

This semester, I decided that I needed to put a hold on volunteering at The Crucible so that I could focus on class, applications, and student activities. But today was their open house, and so I came in to help out, just for a few hours. And you know the great thing about events, is that you get to see all the people you don't always see when you come in during the week.

And aw, it was so cool to see people. Everyone was like, oh, you haven't been around, and yay, it's so good to see you, la dee dah. I mean, I can't really express how excellent these people are--the other volunteers, the instructors.

There's Neal, who's in his forties or so, who's the hugest flirt and I am totally in love with him. I swear to god he was one of the best boyfriends from my past lives, and we never really broke up. And, as he pointed out, he does have a cute ass.

Of course there's Rob. And there's Jeremy, the IT guy who is so personable it's surprising every time you see him. It's like, yeah, you're great friends, that's just the way it is. Even though we never spent a huge amount of time bonding, we are just great friends.

And then there's Jay. The head glass instructor. We have just always been so cool with each other. He had a bunch of his sculpture and jewelry out for sale, and while I was talking with his wife Zoe behind the counter, I couldn't help but stare at this one necklace that just seemed to me to be a masterpiece, like, it could just as well have been a huge torque of diamonds, it was so entrancing and beautiful to me. And he came by, and I asked him, theoretically, how much would I pay for that necklace (theoretically because I had a strong suspicion I couldn't afford it anyway). He hesitated and said, "well, that's really a $200 piece, but I would give it to you for half that." And you know, he's not a salesman, he's a craftsman, and I could see what it was worth, and I was truly touched by the offer.

I tried it on, and he saw me wearing it, and his face just lit up, hand to mouth and everything, and he said, "That's really beautiful." Ach, and it was not only how it looked on me, it was also how much he could see I loved it that touched him. And it cost more than I like jewelry to cost, but for a piece of craftsmanship, color, sculpture, and true love for one's work, I think it was an absolute bargain.

And we had the most awesome conversation, and I swear, mentally, we were like, holding each other.

People are so wonderful! It's amazing how close we can be to each other, without having given or taken anything. Rock on, you d-landers, you're part of it too.

9:13 p.m. 2003-09-20�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland