( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

A long time ago, before the summer, I posted a free personal on the onion website. I got hooked into it, you know, I saw an interesting quote, then I wanted to read that person's thing, and then other people's things were amusing, and then to read more of them I needed to register, and once I registered, I figured, hey, a profile wouldn't take too much effort, I won't spend any money, and if anyone contacts me then I have no problem with new friends. I met one guy over the summer, dated him briefly, and you know what happened to all the summer guys. Since then I'd pretty much forget about the profile, and then I'd get a notice that someone contacted me, then I'd read their little response and feel complimented by their interest, but I'd never bother to respond back; then I'd forget about it till the next notice came along.

A while ago I figured that for me it would serve as a random compliment generator. I don't get so many emails as for it to be annoying, but every once in a while it'll come along and make me feel attractive.

So this one guy recently responded to my profile and boy, he seems a catch! And quite the eloquent writer. I was Especially complimented by his interest in me, so I decided to do him the courtesy of writing back, as contacting people over the website takes money and what he sent was so well-written. Basically, I answered his questions, told him he seemed interesting and attractive, told him I had a boyfriend, wished him well. I kind of expected him to just drop it; after all, what are those websites for? To Quote: "I have a boyfriend; he is new, but not too new; because I'm attracted to you (I guess), I'd feel uncomfortable bringing you into my life under the pretense of friendship through a dating ad."

He ended up writing back, in which he vibed* on me, implying a couple questions and asking me one.

At this point it occurs to me that it would be downright unethical to keep communicating with him seeing as how we're vibing so strongly. I really want to get to know him better, but it would be a bad idea. Like K. Better not to keep in contact. I'm just going to answer his questions, and tell him that I really must insist we leave it be. I know myself and I can interpret him well enough.

*by 'vibe' I mean, when you're meeting someone new, and you're attracted to them, friend or romance, how you kind of rapid-fire back and forth the ways in which you connect. And if it's done well, you build a connection fast, and they become fond almost immediately. Everybody does this to varying degrees, but with some people it's just so strong and fast that you feel or see it flowing and happening between the two of you.

12:59 p.m. 2003-11-14�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland