( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

Notes du Vin
aka proof of my bourgeois status

My notes started off very minimal, and as I tasted more, I learned what it was I wanted to record and remember. So the Chianti notes are barely existant, while the Zinfandel notes are detailed. At the bottom of the page is a key to the notation I use.

~~Chianti
Toscolo / Chianti 2001

~~Cabernet Sauvignon
Robert Mondavi / Private Reserve / Cabernet Sauvignon 2001

~~Sauvignon/Fume Blanc
Robert Mondavi / Private Reserve / Fume Blanc 2002

~~Zinfandel (red)
Joel Gott / Zinfandel 2002
Peachy Canyon / Westside / Zinfandel 2000

Notation:

The title of a wine I write as such:
winery / (label subset/location) / type of wine, year

Under the title, I write:
date opened (m/d/y), price I bought it for (in parentheses is the original price if it was on sale), store I bought it from

Dry/acidic/body/bitter:
I rate these elements on a scale of 0 to 10, 0 being nonexistent, 10 being incredibly present. For sugar content, it is either (dry / off-dry / sweet).

Symbols:
Different symbol before a statement means different things.
- denotes an element of tasting.
: denotes a random note/observation.
--> denotes my overall opinion/impression of the wine.

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland