( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

At this point, I am in the middle of a battle of Helm's Deep proportions with some fucking virus that thought now would be the perfect time to ravage me. Uh-uh, virus. You have no IDEA who you're dealing with.

Frankly, I'm fairly certain that the only reason this cold has any sort of hold on me is because I got all drunk and subsequently dehydrated on Saturday, which is something I have not been doing for such a long time. Really, I'm very annoyed at myself. I seem to have vague memories of this happening the last time I got roaring drunk--feeling dehydrated the next day, and mistaking inklings of cold symptoms for further crappy feeling, thereby allowing the virus to take root. Because otherwise, you see, I am a juggernaut. I am impenetrable, and I haven't gotten sick for over a year. I used to think it was normal to get sick, you know, catch a cold, fever, at least once a year. But no. That's a myth. Why should we not be healthy? Why should any minor sickness have any entry into our bodies whatsoever? To me, it's a sign of weakness. Maybe that's taking it too far, but I just know that when I get sick, I know why. And when I sincerely go head to head with any virus, it loses.

I've been working with my defenses, you know, and I feel like I've got all my bases covered. I've been pulling out the big guns, because tomorrow I'm headed to Tahoe with friends for New Years, and god-dag-nabit if sick is exactly what I do NOT want to be. a: I want to party. b: being sick in an extremely cold environment is even less fun than being sick at home. I was planning to abuse my health over this trip, and now I have to take 'extra-special' care of it. Uh-uh. You know who won Helm's Deep? The DEFENDERS, that's who. Take that. Fucking virus. And you know how long it took? One Night. That's right. One freaking night and you will be OUT Of Here!

Here are the awe-inspiring ingredients to waging an all-out war with impending sickness:

EmergenC: fizzy mega-vitamin C (and other vitamins) drink. Powder, instant goodness upon hitting water. The first thing I went for. Each serving has a day-and-a-half's worth. Raspberry flavor. Over the course of the day I've had: three.

Airborne: a weird tablet of mysterious powers that works wonders in beginning stages. Drop it into water, another fizzy drink. It do feel potent. Over the day: 2.

Salabat: filipino ginger tea. This is no weak-ass tea-in-a-bag; slices of crushed ginger in the bottom of the cup, hot water poured over. With Honey! So good!!

Sushi: That's right. The full meal, folks. It is the best way to feed yourself when feeling sick. Why? 1) It is visually clean and does not look like, or make, a mess in front of you. 2) Sushi is made of simple ingredients. You can see everything that you are putting into yourself. Less bodily confusion. 3) Raw food is best for an ailing body. 4) Nori (the seaweed) has good amounts of vitamin C. 5) Green tea comes with sushi. Green tea--hot beverage, antioxidants, can't go wrong. 6) Wasabi. (green horseradish) Does the job to clear out your sinuses. Grab the table and eat some straight, and have some with all your sushi. Antiseptic. Actually helps your stomach and wakes up your senses. 7) Pickled ginger. Another intense spice. Good for the throat and stomach. Also antiseptic.
There are so many reasons why sushi is the perfect sick-meal. Not the least of which is that it's damn good. So some people think it's weird. Their loss. I bet they get sick.

Yoga: There are a few poses in yoga that specifically are very good for your immune system. (For those of you in the know, that would be shoulder stand and half-bridge, also butterfly and hips-elevated-legs-against-the-wall. Who doesn't know their Sanskrit?) Also, it's good moderate exercise. One does need exercise.

A Talisman: I'm serious. Wear something around your neck or wrist that you don't normally wear, that is comfortable but that you will feel from time to time. It's a reminder, a suggestion. You put it on with that intention, and your mind stores that away. You may not always be thinking about it, but you know what it's for. And during the day, you will feel it there, and while it may not register as a conscious thought, your body will be reminded that it is supposed to be fighting sickness.

And lots and lots of water, preferably hot. UH! Take that! Biatch.

So I watched the first four episodes of Neon Genesis Evangelion, anime. It's pretty good, I dare say. It's got me wanting to watch the rest. I really like the idea of series that have endings. There's more art to it. These first four episodes reminded me a little of Ender's Game; though Shinji is no Ender, he steps up to the plate anyhow. Good show.

After, I found my body feeling a little fever-weak, and I grew a little afraid I had lost my battle. But then I realized! That I am getting these feelings this early means that the virus is spending itself quickly and making a last-ditch effort at possession. It's like weaponless soldiers hurling themselves at you. While it can be really fucking scary, it is also means they know they will probably die, and as long as you keep your head you still have the upper hand.

---

--My son. He will be like Charles Wallace and he will be like Ender.

--What if he's not?

--That is impossible.

12:13 a.m. 2003-12-30�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland