( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

So I have begun to apply for the Absolutely Perfect Career-Oriented Yet Part-Time Dream Jobs. I found three.

But there are many other Interesting Jobs At Which I Will Still Feel Alive, and there are even more Jobs I'll Take. I'm not too worried about finding one. Mostly because for the awesome jobs, I am just so ridiculously perfectly suited for them. It's not just that I want them, it's that they also want me. It's like their detailed job requirements = my resume to a tee. And their ideals and environment = my ideals and desire. Thank you, thank you. And to have found Three, all of which I would be very excited to work at! I mean, that's more than the zero I expected.

So I fired off applications to the National Radio Project and the SF Int'l Film Festival (both non-profits), and a store that sells Venetian and Italian masks. So if I'm not surrounded by motivated art and media types, I'll be surrounded by inspired art. Che Bella!

I mean, the rest of the options aren't that bad either, they're just not as good. But they're still good! Oh this blessed life!

So you're thinking, Since when was she looking for a job? Since I caught up with my checkbook, that's when. No, truthfully, I thought I should like to use some of my free time next semester to make me some bills. I've been thinking that I'd like to spend some time away for the summer. Like just go live in Portland or Arizona for a month or two, sublet a room/place and spend that time writing and exploring the city. Overseas travel is SO expensive and involved, and I'm not as familiar with my OWN country as I'd like to be. I like the idea of just living in another town for a month.

When she was here for Thanksgiving, my friend Yuka was expressing how much she loved the bay area, and how being away from it made her realize how wonderful it was. And I said to her, "Yeah, god, I love this place. I think I need to leave it soon." And she was surprised, kinda shook her head, like What? I just meant that I should get out of here, go someplace else for a little while, a)to see someplace new, and b)to understand my idea of home even better. Arizona and Portland have always had this intense pull on me, so those are my first two choices. Cheaper rents, too. So that's what I'm saving up for.

3:32 a.m. 2003-12-12�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland