( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

Last night I underwent a cultural revival of my culture of one. I was looking up at my living room wall and I decided I didn't like the painting I had started. Not so much that I didn't like it, but it wasn't going to fit in with the feeling I want my living room to project. So I'm deciding to scrap the painting--I hadn't gotten very far with it anyway--and in my mind I envisioned a large set of wings streching across my wall. So that's what I'm going to do--make a large set of wings. I looked at costume wings on the net, but they're all wimpy. I want mine larger, and more realistic--more sculptural than wearable. So I've taken stock of the materials I need. At first I envisioned the wings attached to some sort of strappy leather harness--as though the set of wings on the wall were like a canoe on the wall and you could just take them down, don them, and fly off. But I tried to see practically how the harness would be made so that the wings would attach nicely and it wouldn't look like an S&M rig, and it just seemed too elaborate. It would make it much harder, and I'd have to sew a lot of leather. So instead I'm going to attach the wings to a brown leather vest that I'm buying off ebay. Just a little less contraption-ication.

Anyone have experience building a large, realistic set of feathered wings? Or any other set of succesfully made human-sized wings? Please contact me if you do.

So I'm off to buy some PVC pipe, batting, and heavy guage wire. Onwards into the journey of self-discovery through structural sculpture.

1:36 p.m. 2003-12-05�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland