( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

I've been reading the Sandman, finally. Any time I told anybody I was into comics, they'd be like, "Oh, you must have read the Sandman, right?" "Actually, uh, no." "WHAT?!? OMG, noway, you HAVE to blah blah..." But they were right. The Sandman is excellent, Neil Gaiman is a magnificent writer. If only the books weren't so bloody expensive... in the end, the whole series will cost me nigh on $200. But they'll get my money anyway, dammit. They know comics fans well enough.

More than once in the Sandman series, Lucifer looks exactly like David Bowie, no mistake. I think it's Mike Dringenberg that does it, and I commend him. I've often thought Bowie would make a wonderful Lucifer--elegant, dashing, rakish, aloof, devilish with a hint of indifference. Perfect.

Ahem. I used to be a HUGE fan of David Bowie. If you couldn't already tell. And oh wait, wasn't he the intensely magnetic, obviously well-endowed Goblin King of the movie Labyrinth? And what was the Goblin Kingdom but a sufficiently watered-down version of hell and all its demons? Oh David, take it as the highest compliment when I say that you were BORN for the part.

Also, departing from the topic of David Bowie, another name of Lucifer is Morningstar. There's a really popular line of frozen fake-meat products called Morningstar Farms. Is this meant to imply that vegetarians are devil-worshippers? If so, then like I said before, give me a pitchfork, I'm going to town.

10:23 p.m. 2003-12-01�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland