( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

I rewatched the Matrix Reloaded today. I saw it when it was in theaters, but I saw it as the second half of a double-header, it started at 12:30 am and we could only get seats way up close to the screen. So I was like, Ugh, I'm tired, this movie is like one LONG fight scene, my neck hurts, my friends are falling asleep, I'm NOT enjoying this. So I thought I should give the movie a fair go before I judged it. And my opinion of it went up, but not that far. It was okay, but not Great.

It was fun when my dad recognized the Webster tube. This is the tube that connects downtown Oakland to Alameda (underwater), that I drive through Every day. In the car chase when they're headed to the freeway, they head through a green tunnel, and that's the Webster tube. So all the times we thought they were working on construction, they were filming the Matrix! Shee-it. I bet that's why they had to push the construction end date back. It was all filmed on the old Alameda navy base; my dad said he saw the place where they had constructed the freeway for the car chase. Uh, that's neat, I guess.

---

I remember once I was thinking about computer programming and how our operating systems work. How we've programmed our computers such that we can accomplish things and change things in the system by typing in regular language and moving icons about the screen. And I remember thinking, That would be so cool if we made a computer that consisted of physical objects, that by moving these objects around and having them interact, you could manipulate code, and that would be how we worked the system. Then I thought, OH. Right. That's magic. That's life. It's been done.

---

I'm going to go on a music fast. For one week, starting midnight tonight, I'm not going to listen to music. In my car, in my house. It's okay if someone else is playing music and I happen to be there, but I'm not going to initiate any music in my environment. I listen to it so much, I think I need to get more in touch with the sounds around me and the thoughts in my head. I'll probably sing more. One week, we'll see how it goes.

---

I forget what I was searching for, but I ran across this interesting-borderline-funny essay on fire buffs. Fire buffs are apparently people who love to watch fires be fought. Here's a sentiment expressed by one:

"I don't want anybody's house to burn down. But if yours does, God forbid, I want to be there to see it."

9:16 p.m. 2003-11-30�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland