( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

So J is getting me a copy of Science and Health, the Christian Science holy book. That's cool. It's really exciting when someone gives you something that means a lot to them. When I first learned he was CS, I checked it out on the web and I liked the excerpts that I read from it.

That's an interesting aspect to my character. My own personal beliefs have plenty of room for everyone else's; I mean, I truly understand what those systems are for, I can see the good they are capable of, and I fully grasp the power they hold. And so people tend to feel very comfortable discussing things religious or supernatural with me. There are aspects of every belief system that get me excited. I am not concerned with changing what people believe; but my viewpoint tends to jive with theirs in such a way that they see positivities in their belief that they weren't previously aware of. A different spin on things that makes the living beautiful and simple.

---

My second McSweeney's piece is posted now. It's part of the Favorite Song Essay feature, inspired by Nick Hornby's Songbook. It's longer than the food piece, and closer to me. Not my best, though. Then again, what IS my best? Follow the link:

"Inner Meet Me" by The Beta Band By P. Lisa R. H. Mayor (11/24/03)

6:57 p.m. 2003-11-24�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland