( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

Finally, I visited my friend Amy on Friday. She's a friend from high school, going to UC Santa Cruz. We hadn't seen each other for about a year, as she'd been in France for the past two semesters.

Ah, we had such a great time. We took a long walk on Friday where we both brought our cameras and had a grand time running around, taking pictures of each other, and looking like fools. Amy is the only person who takes awesome-hot-video games-hot pictures of me. Maybe I'll upload some, and maybe I won't.

We also had dinner with Bobby, another of our friends from HS that we haven't seen in a while. And it was really nice to be together, it was like, the best parts of high school along with the best parts of having old friends, just seeing how we've all changed/matured and not changed.

I also got to meet Amy's new boyfriend, Jose. I like him well enough, he's good-looking and funny and opinionated. I'm pretty sure, though, that she's a good deal more mellow and mature than he, and that'll lead to some problems. He's a little selfish, and has the tendency toward self-righteousness, and she is not the type to stand by and take shit. But they play well together, their bodies like each other, and he really cares about her. So for now, he passes.

Amy had a little work to do while I was there, and while she was doing that I pretty much finished Ender's Game.

That book is so much better than I even suspected. It makes it to my permanent bookshelf. I had to audibly react to some of the things that happened near the end, much to Amy's intrigued amusement. Screw the sci-fi genre, this book is one of the best of all-time and I hope the fact that it belongs to this genre doesn't keep people from reading it, because it deserves to be canonized.

---

As a side note, I am revising my belief that intelligence/smartness has nothing to do with genes and only depends on circumstance/upbringing. I -maybe- concede that genes have something to do with it. Maybe.

I sound like the pope saying that there may be some credit to this Darwinism thing.

2:29 p.m. 2003-11-23�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland