( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

I would like to endorse (perhaps re-endorse) the political blog And Then.... Written by Mr. Scout Thomas, or whatever he goes by these days, it is a gateway to informed liberal thought. His stances are intelligent and well-researched (and what's more important, I tend to agree with him).

But one of my favorite things about this blog is the comments. Because there you will find people that disagree, who also happen to be intelligent. And thus it is that real exchanges occur.

I wrote a number of comments there, that I guess I've unified and expanded upon, and here they are.

I wholeheartedly agree that in this election, the left lacked something to stand for. Any successful campaign must have an emotional element, because we are people who think AND feel. I thought Dean had that. I won't ever forget how much his campaign ignited me and made me have hope for American politics--that someone who stood FOR what I stand FOR might make a difference. Sure, he had a powerful stance against Bush, and it was nice to see him rail against the things I was also angry about. But what made me love him was that he had a positive vision for the future--he had IDEALS, which I would consider the non-religious word for morals. I told people before this was all over, "I would have worked for Dean. (In fact, I did.) But I'll vote for Kerry."

Indeed, the choice lies in emotionally-centered goals. If one were to use logic-and-only-logic, then honestly, both sides have a case. And that would always be true. If we are looking for proper logic, both sides will always have it. Which logic we choose depends on where our sympathies lie. If you do not appeal to sympathy, you will lose every time.

I think I know why I am not a very politically active person. It is because I do not see anything in American politics that I wish to be a part of. Kerry did not honestly make me think of a better future. Just a future with less potential for devastation. I am not a person who thinks in negatives. Give people something to avoid, and that will be all they can think about. Give people something to desire and work for, and they will avoid the pitfalls without them ever coming to mind.

And if there is nothing about American politics that involves me,... what am I doing here? One might say, 'Well, then it's your duty to create something.' But look, everybody has their talents, and politics is not one of mine. But I should be able to find a candidate, be able to make a choice, that reflects the person that I am, and I know I'm not alone in feeling this alienation.

I am just feeling so disconnected to "America" right now. I honestly feel as though I should leave, because with the state of things, I am almost eager to see American politics as it currently stands go Down the Tubes, and I don't really wish to stand in the middle of it when it falls to pieces. And it pains me, because this is my home and I care for it; but if this country continues to move in the opposite direction that I feel the world should be moving, If my life and and freedom will continue to be compromised by leaders I do not support, I will leave. As soon as I can.

That said, I feel sure that there will be a significant amount of brain drain in the coming years, especially if our next president is along the lines of this one. To Canada, to any place that will take us, because I am now beginning to worry that we will all soon be political refugees.

---

Speaking of which, allow me to offer you some choices:

Canada
United Kingdom
New Zealand
Australia

English-speaking nations all, because I am not fluent in any other language and am not brave enough to undergo "immersion". I'm thinkin about it. I've definitely got to stay here until at least June 06, because I'd like to get my BA first. Hopefully, it will still be easy to leave the country and Americans won't yet have been branded as undesirables.

It may seem like I'm overreacting, but remember the parable of the boiled frogs?

9:54 p.m. 2004-11-03�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland