( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

I made the realization recently that I just kind of love the sound of my own voice.

It's not a huge problem; like, I don't usually overpower others in order to say something long and inane (though perhaps there have been times), but I do have a roundabout way of saying things. Sometimes.

And sometimes I think I just say things better than others. I'll pull that trick, you know, where someone will say something, and I'll say it back rephrased--kind of like I'm agreeing with them, and in that tone, but really I'm offering them better diction. I mean, people do that all the time as a way of showing the other person that they understand what they're saying, and I do it that way too, but there's sometimes the other thing going on. And what's weird is that apparently, I can do it so subtly that they find what I say more interesting than what they said, as if it were my insight. Hm. I can imagine that I would be that person at board meetings who rephrases someone's idea, and all of a sudden everyone thinks it's a good idea, and treats it like it was mine. And you know, I wouldn't be doing it to steal someone else's idea. If I know it's a good idea, I'll advocate it. And for some mystery people will listen to me. And I will annoy the hell out of the person who thought of it in the first place, because everyone thinks I'M so clever. Ugh. I annoy me right now. It's a good thing I won't ever work at a corporate office.

1:27 p.m. 2003-10-12�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland