( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

Dragonflies, hummingbirds, bats, bees, and moths. I would like to keep, raise, or house these creatures in some way over the course of my life. All five at once, if possible. I would love to have all of these inhabiting my backyard. Not too hard, probably; I think it's a matter of keeping a proper sort of garden that will feed them and attract them, and maybe hatching some eggs once in a while. The bats, naturally, I would have to build them a house and hope they come to it. But I really have a fondness for these five flying things, and it would mke me happy to know that they are always present and I am always helping them live.

It just came to mind because Mills is filled with dragonflies. And the really lovely sort--large, blue or red, with iridescent wings, busily darting about and eating mosquitoes.

Pollinators and mosquito-eaters. I'll be happy to help them in any way I can, and if they like me, they'll stick around. Keeping wild things in a wild way would make me happy.

1:12 p.m. 2004-09-13�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland