( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

I have discovered anew the beauty and simplicity of craigslist.org. It's set up for many major cities, but it's pretty much an SF bay area institution.

It's basically just a posting board. These are the things that distinguish it from other boards:

I was trying to sell my camera to a shop, and the price they offered was WAY less than I wanted to get for it, and the clerk suggested trying craigslist, so I could get it closer to resale price.

And a lightbulb went off when I went there. People set their own conditions for sale. There is even a whole section devoted to people who'd like to barter. So I posted my camera for sale or trade for a digital, and put all my old CDs and books for sale. Here are my postings, mention them if you know anyone local who'd be interested:

camera, lenses, flash, bag
CDs (yay, I sold them!)
books

So yeah, especially after looking at the free and barter sections, I was like, Gasp! I could live my life entirely through Craiglist! I'll use it to get rid of anything I don't want, use it to find anything on the cheap, it's a godsend! Oh my dear, darling, Bay Area, yet another jewel comes from your unlimited store of local blessings.

Oh, and the date with Tom went GREAT. He reminds me of the best-looking and most interesting one of my exes (Blake), except that he's modest, subtle, and motivated.

1:16 a.m. 2003-08-20�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland