( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

Today I just thought to myself:

This online diary thing is getting ridiculous. I even think about things as though I'm entering them into my diary!

Which was incredibly funny, because I thought about it as though I was entering it into my diary!

I laughed really loud. Very very loud, but not very long. Then I thought about how my laugh sounded almost like a dog barking, in its loud, staccato, unprotracted essence.

Then I thought, Hmm, so what if dogs are barking when they want to be laughing? That is, when they're not fending off intruders and greeting those they love, of course. Because there are dogs in my neighborhood that bark so often I am sure they are doing neither. And I usually find it annoying.

But what if they are laughing? If one of them starts barking, as is their custom, I could go, 'Hmm, I wonder what is so funny?'

And then I would look out the window, and down the street I would see a squirrel nibbling on a nut that it just stole from Old Ms. Benson's nut jar, and I would go, 'Oh! That is funny! Ha! Ha Ha!' and join the dog in loud, staccato, unprotracted laughter.

12:50 p.m. 2003-07-31�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland