( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

In the past I've had trouble reconciling myself to the idea of getting my bachelor's degree. I was like, "Yeah man, a degree means shit. It's not even about what you study. It means you can kowtow to the authorities and sacrifice your individuality for the sake of an approved lifestyle. They're just indoctrinating you into the narrow mindset that assures that society continues the way it always has. I don't know about this college thing. I don't think that's what I want."

So I left for what could have been a semester, could have been forever, and really thought about it. Kicked around the idea of making a fulfilling, sustaining life for myself without a bachelor's. Thought about what I wanted to do in life.

And I went back. Found what I wanted, decided college would help me get there, came back with mission and motive. This is good.

So I'm learning what college is actually about. And it's true that it's not about what you study; it's all different languages for the same thing.

I thought of a good metaphor for it today. You've heard of that old axiom of the Japanese art apprentice who spends the first seven years cleaning the studio before he is even allowed to touch brush to canvas. Well that's college. It's not about what you do, it's about what you learn while you do it.

You learn discipline. You learn how to balance and how to plan. You learn how to set a goal and get there even though you're tired. You study your chosen microcosm, the message is the same.

Of course, you don't need college to learn this stuff. It'll come at you whether or no, you can't avoid it, we all have to confront these things. It's just a matter of style. Me, I'm going to college. You, you might join a traveling circus. Or create a subculture, become an icon. Either way, the only way you can possibly succeed is to learn these things.

Sigh. Nope, I can't avoid them, no matter how long I type into my diary.

11:23 p.m. 2003-07-21�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland