( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

Okay, so real quick before I crash:

All throughout my trip to LA, I had this recurring image in my head. Everything people do is so subtle--the ways in which we express instant pleasure or displeasure, our truly honest opinions, moods, and feelings, are all evinced by little tiny things: the rhythm and sharpness of our foot taps, the specific curve of a person's smile, the things we don't notice we do or can't control.

I was watching those things and picturing to myself how we would look if our gestures and postures were magnified a thousandfold. We would look hilarious! I did that at the airport and immediately people were leaping in the air, couples were dancing in through the halls, people were slumped with their lips and face in a childish pout, some people were moving and talking at ten times normal speed. And interestingly enough, some people were the same. Ten times what they were was what they were. (Scout Thompson once said that he seeks to be Zero.) I enjoyed repeating this experiment a number of times this weekend.

2:01 a.m. 2004-06-01�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland