( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

Un-fucking-believable. I managed to hit the base of my champagne glass just so, such that a Large Drop of the Sprite within went straight up my nose.

I can still feel it.

---

Here's a gem from work today:

Cris: (to Customer) Can I help you with anything?

Customer: No, thanks. I'm just looking for the moment.

---

The Burton translation of 1001 Nights is hilarious, often unintentionally. The footnotes are fantastic. Examples:

And, as will be seen, Persians have bequeathed to the outer world worse things than bad language, e.g. heresy and sodomy.

A youth; a generous man, of noble mind (as youth-tide should be).

This readiness of shedding tears contrasts strongly with the external stoicism of modern civilization; but it is true to Arab character; and Easterns, like the heroes of Homer and the Italians of Boccacio, are not ashamed of what we look upon as the result of female hysteria--"a good cry".

12:14 a.m. 2004-03-11�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland