( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

Regarding yesterday's perfect breakfast:

>>sourdough toast with cream cheese, covered in halved grapes and onion slivers. +white wine.

In terms of food, I have no sense for what is appropriate--only for what is good. Consequently, I am an inconsistent and uncontrolled but wildly inventive, intuitive, and interesting cook.

Wait, that goes for ceramics, too. Oh, and art. Etcetera.

---

So maybe after Greece, I'll go to Norway. Since I'm in the neighborhood. You know what I mean. On that side of the world.

But--long sigh. I really wanted to spend a relaxing month somewhere in the states that attracts me (Phoenix, AZ or Portland, OR). And while temporally, that's still possible, monetarily it may not be if I choose to go to Norway. I'm covered for Greece, but Norway is an expensive place to travel to... I will be staying at his house, but still... We'll see. I'll start taking more hours at work soon, since I'm feeling better, and that way I can be more sure of myself.

That is, if I don't wig out and buy a $500 Paul Laffoley print. Last night I was up really late being obsessive about him and his work. Like, tracking down every lead about any work he's done--written, artistic--seeing what I could realistically acquire, looking for upcoming events featuring him that I may be able to attend (I find I'm even willing to drive as far as LA to see him. I could stay with my sister.)

You guys, check him out. He makes me crazy. After taking in a lot of his work, I pace the floor rapidly, eyes large, face straight, alternately having earth-shakingly inspired ideas of my own and scheming up the ways I could possibly bug him into making me his apprentice. True, I am no architect; but as for having insightful, clear, wonderful ideas about, and visions of, our existence, I do. He does. He has many more years' experience in realizing these ideas than I do. Hence, I would like to learn from him. Him as a person, and as an artist.

Paul Laffoley Gallery Index (scroll down sidebar to see paintings)

The copies are terribly small. They're not even big enough to read the words! Uch.

I need to do more reading.

7:00 p.m. 2004-02-10�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland