( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

Morpheus died. Snf. Morpheus died!

---

I just remembered a strong dream from a couple of nights ago. I seemed to be walking around with an aspect of power. It was a woman, tall, strange, and gorgeous, with pale hair. Sometimes she and I were separate, and she would talk to people on my behalf, and they would love me or do what I wanted because she asked it of them. I remember a scene in which I wanted a boy. I sat there, and she went over to him, and said, 'Look at her. Isn't she amazing? Don't you love her?' And he looked over at me, and I was unsure of myself, and she looked at me and made a little 'go-on' gesture with her hand; and from outside of myself I saw me smile, and a twinkle came into my eye; I leaned towards him and he looked at me and loved me. And sometimes she and I were not separate, and I was her, and those were the times I talked to people and did my good work, making connections and helping people. It wasn't like she was my friend; it was like she was my servant, but a good servant, one I had known for a long time, one whom I loved and admired.

---

And last night was the Find-Your-Valentine party. I was terribly late. I got home from work, ate a good meal, and read... then Alex called and was like, Where are you? And I said, What time is it? 11:45, he said. No way.

So I got me ready. To a party themed after love, I had to go properly attired. In fact, having just read the Sandman story in which we meet Astarte, dancing goddess of love, I wanted to bring a striking presence to the valentine party. You know how it is with me and my dancing.

Mission Accomplished. I wore a bright red sarong draped over my head and shoulders, and my Greek bells around my wrist. It's interesting how easy it is to turn yourself into something out of the ordinary. Even people I knew were admittedly mystified and intrigued by the approaching figure, and upon knowing it was me, they uttered a 'Wow, you look great.' Mm. I did.

It was fun, in a weird way. I was sort of someone other than myself.

At one point in the night I said to Noah, "I decided that tonight I am a cross between Aphrodite and Bacchus." And he says, "So, you're the Goddess of Being 21?" Ha.

---

Morpheus the King of Dreams, you dorks. Not Morpheus of the Matrix.

When I got home last night at 3:30am, I was slightly tipsy. I did a little bit of drunken sobbing as I read of Morpheus' wake. Sigh. Even though I knew it was going to happen, reading the Sandman will never be the same again. Sigh. Sigh.

1:51 p.m. 2004-02-08�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland