( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

Okay, feeling a little more capable now. A little. Damn glad I didn't go to work today. I feel slightly guilty for having done nothing more useful than read more issues of the Sandman, but ah well. But I swear, as I read, there were times I didn't even realize my foot was there, so mission accomplished.

---

So yesterday wasn't completely dumpy, which was what I didn't get around to writing about in the last entry. I went and got some chow mein for lunch, then had a phone conversation with my sister in which we confirmed that I would be spending a week with her in Philadephia helping her move and settle in, and then go with her to Athens in late August for the Olympics. Woot!

After that I lay around until my friend Ted came by to comfort and cozen me with presents and whiskey. I dated Ted last summer, and because of some awkwardness, and my fickleness at the time, I put that to a speedy end; but he has never stopped wanting me. And I think he's way cool--he's intelligent, he works on some amazing sound art projects, and he's adventurous in some ways that most of my friends aren't--but still, every time we see each other, he tries to kiss me. I wish he wouldn't, it makes me want to avoid him.

But besides the kisses, we had a good time. He brought me ibuprofen, as per my request, as well as scotch, as per his suggestion. A cheap bottle for the drinking and some expensive samples for the tasting.

Aside: What ever made him think I would want a bottle of cheap whiskey? The tasting of quality whiskey was unanticipated but welcome, while a bottle of cheap whiskey is mildly insulting. I am not the type to dull my pain with alcohol, thank you.

And the presents he brought me were for, I don't know, Christmas or New Year's or some such excuse. Not to say that I'm not grateful. He brought me a tiny Japanese iron teapot (which is actually a sort of large inkwell, but perfectly suited for his style of making tea), and appropriately small quantities of quality dark teas. A couple tablets of black-process Pu-Erh and four tightly-packed capsulets of what sounded like tuo-cha (which is, as I drink it now, a delightfully sweet and dirty dark tea which wants nothing added. Tastes like soil, though not to the incredible extent of Pu-Erh).

Ted is my friend-in-tea; it was he who got me interested in its esoterica and exploration. The first night we spent together, we drank cups ad cups of infusions--a Japanese summer barley tea, Pu-Erh, Golden Mountain something, chrysanthemum, Guo Deng, and a downy peach ball (a handcrafted ball of fuzzy white tea leaves that, when dropped in hot water, unfurl into the shape of a flower). One year at Burning Man, he went as Captain Sinensis, and walked the camps with his portable tea chest in which he carried numerous varieties of tea, a couple teapots (one for dark and one for light), a small kettle, and a portable stove. Fresh, well-served cups of tea were his barter (and a fair one, I dare say).

He is also a friend in cognitive science--it was he who lent me the still-unread Infinity and the Mind by Rudy Rucker. These two types of friends are a rarity for me, so for these reasons also, I wish there were less awkwardness between us.

And I wish he knew how to take a freaking hint. Alex and Joe were coming over with Indian dinner, and I wanted him gone by the time they came; but I wasn't about to say "My friends are coming I want you out of here," and he was deaf to any hinting. Alex and Joe arrived, weirded to find me hanging out with this dude they don't know, behind closed doors, with bottles of whiskey next to the bed--whatever. We spread dinner on my bedroom floor, and had an excellent go at it. Luckily, Ted had the option of going to a show later, though he said with a hopeful voice that he would stay if I wanted company; I encouraged him to go to the show, and he went. Whatever darling Delphi says, yes?

I'm cruel. But my love runs deeper than my cruelty, which is my only comfort in my flaws. And I take solace in that all my cruelties have at times been turned upon myself. As well as the love.

After Ted left, the four of us--Alex, Joe, myself, and my roommate Colin--played some rousing games of Kent (Qhent? Quent?), a middle-eastern partner-card game with a fast learning curve.

(Note: I am adding a page in miscellany on the games I play. I do love my games. There will either be links to sites about them or I will explain the rules. Also, I will be updating my tea chest accordingly. As well as Googles. And links. Updates all around!)

---

So, I have an ingenious plan for my absent friends on my 21st birthday coming Feb 5. A Synchronized Tea Party at 10am Pacific Standard Time (that's nine hours behind Britain and Norway. Right about tea-time for the English, wot?). I will land-mail a couple (more by request...) bags of tea to the partiers. For you readers, email me your address and the tea shall be sent post-haste. My only request is that you invoke blessings for me and send me a picture if it be convenient. Oh and by all means, invite your friends. I have no problems with total strangers celebrating the day of my birth.

Also: I will be changing the email link at the bottom to a contacts page, on which I will include my land address. Laura-Jane has provoked a passion in me for sending and receiving things in the mail. Be assured that if you send me something, you will get something in return.

11:56 p.m. 2004-01-25�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland