( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

Note. I particularly have a thing for men who:

a. shave their heads bald

b. have beautiful shoulder-length hair.

---

Beauty is not enough for me anymore.

I do not value one thing higher than any other thing based solely on its beauty. There are too many beautiful things in this world. In terms of incorporating beauty into my life, it must possess meaning, significance, and/or function.

Like, no matter how pretty I think something is now, if I bring it into my life (i.e., hang it up on my wall, put it on my shelf) based solely on that, I will undoubtedly toss it indiscriminately in one of my minimalistic fits.

For me there is no more art for art's sake. If I ever beautify anything it is because that beauty is the most eloquent way of expressing something.

I don't know if that's good or not. That art must always have a reason. In my opinion, the raison d'etre carries the greater part of the beauty, whereas ornamentation actually tends to take away from that.

---

Whenever I start to fret about what I am going to wear, the (paraphrased) words of Kahlil Gibran come to mind:

Clothes hide much that is beautiful, and they do not cover anything that is unbeautiful.

11:34 p.m. 2004-01-17�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland