( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

Here is a copy of an email I sent to the friends+fam:

Subject: I am a smart girl

And I like smart people. Some of you I know better than others, and that's kind of weird in terms of communication, but whatever, you're all smart, I'm sure we're on the level.

So this election coming up--fun stuff, neh? Now, being someone that knows you and loves you, I want you to know, that if any of you are thinking of Not Participating, I reserve the right to literally and figuratively rough you up. Too much has been happening in the last few years for anyone to not hold an opinion.

I've given it some thought. Not as much as some, but more than others. Right off the bat we can get it out there that I don't like Bush. I don't. I will not be voting for him. I would like to discuss alternatives.

A lot of you know that I'm largely on the side of Howard Dean. I think he's wonderful and plausible, and he conducts his campaign in a positive way. I've attached an email from Bill Bradley about his decision to support Howard Dean. Read that if you're interested. Dean is a smart man supported by smart people.

But he is not the only smart guy around, which is why I would like to discuss rather than orate. I know some of you think about politics as much as or more than I do, and I would like to hear what you have to say.

Here's my approximate assessment of Bush's opposition:

Easy stuff first. Kucinich is not a strong candidate. Even the leftest of the left should find someone better to vote for than Kucinich. His ideas are noble, but not feasible. He doesn't have support, he doesn't have people skills, and he commits too many laughable faux pas.

Lieberman and Kerry are losing. Will lose. They don't have anything we need. They have nothing to offer. Those who Don't like Bush won't vote for them (bush lite, anyone?), and those who Do like Bush will vote for Bush.

We know what I think about Howard Dean.

His only major competition in the primaries (which are coming up fast, folks) is Wesley Clark, and this is where I cast my shadow of a doubt. I also like Wesley Clark. He is also very very smart, has good ideas, and is very politically viable. I think he is equally as good a man for the job as Howard Dean. He is not AS socially progressive, but that small dearth is made up for by that I think he may be a little bit smarter and more politically skilled. He is a wonderful speaker with great presence, which is, truly, one of the most important aspects of a president. In terms of their individual strength, they are head to head.

Their political viability, in terms of the election race, is kind of weird. I think both of them have a chance of gaining the presidency in a race against Bush. Against Bush, given the same support base, it would happen more easily for Wesley Clark than for Howard Dean. But I don't think Clark will win the primaries. It was a mistake for him to come in so late. Howard Dean has won many many hearts, and those hearts have been and will work hard for him. If Clark were to win the primaries, Dean supporters would surely vote for him, but probably not work for him. That's a lot of lost vim, and we certainly need vim, because Bush has no lack of it.

With such a big support base, Dean already has a lot of votes promised him in the election. But these are mostly people who would in no way have voted for Bush in the first place. He is a good man, but I think Wesley Clark could reach voters that Howard Dean couldn't.

So what's better, -big base, slightly narrower appeal-, or -small base, slightly broader appeal-? That is the big question, for me.

What do you guys think? These days, a political discussion among strangers is a minefield, so I figure a political discussion among friends is where it's at. Let me know if you think my assessment is accurate. If any of you are Clark supporters, I especially want to hear from you.

Actively Activated,

Delphi

---

Oh my gosh you guys! Sure, I've been assessing their strengths and viability, but not until yesterday did I find out that Wesley Clark is Incredibly Handsome. From all angles, in every way. Can you believe? I never managed to see even a picture until the other day, and let me tell you, I was floored. He has the looks of an incredibly likable heartthrob. I swear to god I have the hugest crush on him.

It doesn't change my political assessment, okay? I'm still listening to Dean, but my eyes are on Clark.

2:13 a.m. 2004-01-14�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland