( s p a c e

t o

b r e a t h e )
.
.
.

I'm working at The Art Store now. Not bad, not bad. Actually, pretty good. The pay is middling, but as far as low-responsibility part-time student jobs go, it's super. Stocking shelves there is like getting a slapdash education on art materials. The people I work with are all nice and mellow, and all of them do some kind of art of their own. My manager does webcomics (www.ratbastardbooks.com), we've got painters and designers... and me! Looks like my ceramics experience did indeed come in handy, because that was one of the things they hired me for (they don't have anyone else that knows anything about clay). The store is a nice environment, not entirely corporate-looking. I get discounts on art supplies, which is a HUGE plus, oh baby. Even the customers aren't bad to deal with, because they're all coming in so they can make some sort of art or project, and I love people who make art and projects. It's totally fun when they're like, Well, this is what I'm trying to do, what do you think I should use? because at that moment, their project is also mine.

And the people there are cool, did I mention that? You know, when I first picked up an application, I was just shopping at the store, and it occurred to me while I was flirting with the cashier that it would be cool to work there. (You saw it coming, didn't you?) Now that I'm hired, as anticipated, the cashier I was flirting with, Sven, is quite warm to me, and is really fun to work with. And cute. 50x: I will not date co-workers.

---

So I ended up not going to Tahoe a second time with the Y group. J went with, and I didn't see him beforehand; his flight to Norway is tonight. So we're trying to squeeze in one last time to see each other before he goes, if even a few minutes. I'm waiting till he gets back from Tahoe, I don't know when his flight is. He will be gone a long time, and I want to see him.

7:10 p.m. 2004-01-11�

previous - next

P. L. Random H. M.�

about this diary - in case you have some sort of issue
miscellany
making wings
links
notes

older
contact
dland